May Awareness

May is…

ALS (Amyotropich Lateral Sclerosis) Awareness Month – http://www.alsa.org/news/public-awareness/als-awareness-month/2016/landing.html
Arthritis Awareness Month – http://blog.arthritis.org/news/arthritis-awareness-month/
Brain Tumor Awareness Month – http://abc2.org/join-us/events/go-gray-may
Celiac Disease Awareness Month – https://celiac.org/
Clean Air Month – http://www.lung.org/our-initiatives/healthy-air/
Cystic Fibrosis Awareness Month – https://www.cff.org/News/News-Archive/2015/May-Is-National-Cystic-Fibrosis-Awareness-Month/
Employee Health & Fitness Month – http://www.physicalfitness.org/nehf.html
Healthy Vision Month – https://nei.nih.gov/hvm/about_hvm
Hepatitis Awareness Month – https://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/heppromoresources.htm
High Blood Pressure Education Month – https://millionhearts.hhs.gov/news-media/events/stroke-bp-month.html
Lupus Awareness Month – http://www.lupusawarenessmonth.org/
Melanoma/Skin Cancer Detection & Prevention Month – https://healthfinder.gov/NHO/MayToolkit2.aspx
Mental Health Awareness Month http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/may
Stroke Awareness Month – https://millionhearts.hhs.gov/news-media/events/stroke-bp-month.html
Teen Pregnancy Prevention Month – http://www.advocatesforyouth.org/topics-issues/teen-pregnancy-prevention/1304-tpp

By Week:

May 1 – 7: National Physical Education & Sports Week – http://www.shapeamerica.org/events/pesportweek/
May 6 – 12: National Nurses Week – http://www.nursingworld.org/FunctionalMenuCategories/National-Nurses-Week-2017
May 7 – 13: National Hospitals Week – http://www.aha.org/advocacy-issues/nhw/index.shtml
May 14 – 20: Alcohol & Other Drug-Related Birth Defects Week – https://www.ncadd.org/about-ncadd/events-awards/alcohol-drug-related-birth-defects-awareness-week
May 14 – 20: National Nursing Home Week – https://www.ahcancal.org/events/national_nursing_home_week/Pages/default.aspx
May 14 – 20: Women’s Health Week – https://www.womenshealth.gov/nwhw
May 13 – 19: Emphysema Awareness Week – http://www.emphysemafoundation.org/
May 14 – 20: Food Allergy Awareness Week – https://www.foodallergy.org/food-allergy-awareness-week
May 15 – 19: Bike to Work Week – http://bikeleague.org/bikemonth

By Day:

May 1: Melanoma Monday (www.melanomamonday.org), Project ACES Day (http://lensaunders.com/aces/aces.html)
May 4: Children’s Mental Health Day – https://www.samhsa.gov/children/national-childrens-awareness-day-events/awareness-day-2017
May 8: Red Cross/Red Crescent Day – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Red_Cross_and_Red_Crescent_Day
May 10: School Nurse Day – http://schoolnursenet.nasn.org/home/schoolnurseday
May 12: Fibromyalgia Awareness Day (http://www.fmcpaware.org/)
May 14: Mother’s Day
May 18: HIV/AIDS Vaccine Awareness Day – https://www.aids.gov/news-and-events/awareness-days/hiv-vaccine-awareness-day/
May 24: Buckle Up America! – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1B98PExsoXshttps://www.trafficsafetymarketing.gov/get-materials/seat-belts/buckle
May 31: World No Tobacco Day – http://www.who.int/campaigns/no-tobacco-day/2017/en/