October Awareness

October is…

Down Syndrome Awareness Month – http://www.ndss.org/about-ndss/our-team/ambassadors/goodwill-ambassador/straight-talk-with-chris-burke/down-syndrome-awareness-month/
Eye Injury Prevention Month – https://www.consumerhealthdigest.com/health-awareness/eye-injury-prevention-month.html
National AIDS Awareness Month – https://nationaldaycalendar.com/aids-awareness-month-october/
National Breast Cancer Awareness Month – http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/breast-cancer-awareness-month
National Dental Hygeine Month – http://www.adha.org/national-dental-hygiene-month
National Domestic Violence Awareness Month – http://nnedv.org/getinvolved/dvam.html
National Healthy Lungs Month – https://www.healthstatus.com/health_blog/copd/healthy-lung-month/
National Liver Cancer Awareness Month – https://www.aacrfoundation.org/Pages/liver-cancer-awareness-month.aspx
National Medical Librarians Month – https://www.personalizedcause.com/health-awareness-cause-calendar/national-medical-librarians-month
National Physical Therapy Month – http://www.moveforwardpt.com/NPTM/Default.aspx
National Spinal Health Month – https://www.acatoday.org/Education-Events/National-Chiropractic-Health-Month
Rett Syndrome Awareness Month – https://www.rettsyndrome.org/make-a-difference/advocacy-awareness/state-proclamations
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Awareness Month – https://www.nichd.nih.gov/news/resources/spotlight/Pages/102014-october-SIDS.aspx
Talk About Prescriptions Month – http://www.bemedwise.org/

The week of…

1 – 7: Mental Illness Awareness Week – https://www.nami.org/Get-Involved/Awareness-Events/Mental-Illness-Awareness-Week
8 – 14: Fire Prevention Week – http://www.nfpa.org/public-education/campaigns/fire-prevention-week-2
9 – 13: National School Lunch Week – https://schoolnutrition.org/Meetings/Events/NSLW/2017/
12 – 20: Bone and Joint Decade National Action Week – https://www.usbji.org/programs/public-education-programs/action-week
15 – 21: International Infection Prevention Week – http://professionals.site.apic.org/iipw/
15 – 21: National Health Education Week – https://www.sophe.org/focus-areas/national-health-education-week/
15 – 21: National Health Care Quality Week – http://nahq.org/about/healthcare-quality-week
16 – 21: National Drug Free Work Week – http://www.ndwa.org/resources/national-drug-free-work-week/
23 – 31: Red Ribbon Week (Drug Free America) – http://redribbon.org/theme/
22 – 28: National Respiratory Care Week – http://www.aarc.org/resources/programs-projects/respiratory-care-week/

The day of…

Oct 2nd: National Child Health Day – https://nationaldaycalendar.com/national-child-health-day-first-monday-in-october/
Oct 7th: National Depression Screening Day – https://mentalhealthscreening.org/programs/initiatives
Oct 10th: World Mental Health Day – https://www.wfmh.global/wmhd-2017/
Oct 13th: Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day – http://www.mbcn.org/october-13-national-metastatic-breast-cancer-awareness-day/
Oct 15th: National Latinx AIDS Awareness Day – https://www.hiv.gov/events/awareness-days/latino
Oct 16th: World Food Day – http://www.fao.org/world-food-day/2017/home/en/
Oct 20th: World Osteoporosis Day – http://worldosteoporosisday.org/
Oct 20nd: National Mammography Day – https://nationaldaycalendar.com/national-mammography-day-third-friday-in-october/
Oct 22nd: International Stuttering Awareness Day – http://www.isastutter.org/what-we-do/isad
Oct 31st: Halloween