Lewis B. Flinn President’s Award


The Lewis B. Flinn President’s Award is made in the name of Lewis B. Flinn, M.D., a founder and the first President of the Delaware Academy of Medicine. It is awarded to an individual or organization that has achieved distinction by substantive contributions to the well being of our community through education, leadership, philanthropy, or service.

The 2019 recipient of the Lewis B. Flinn President’s award is

Sherman L. Townsend

Chair, Delaware Institute for Medical Education and Research (DIMER)

DIMER has been Delaware’s medical school alternative since 1969, with agreements in place with Sidney Kimmel Medical College (formerly Jefferson Medical College) at Thomas Jefferson University and the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic medicine – both in Philadelphia, PA.  Mr. Townsend has been chair of DIMER, and has been instrumental in increasing the number of Delaware students applying and matriculating to medical school.

Previous Recipients of the Lewis B. Flinn President’s Award

 2008:     Victor F. Battaglia, Sr., Esq.

2009:     Robert W. Frelick, M.D.

2010:     Leslie W. Whitney, M.D.

2011:     Robert B. Flinn, M.D.

2012:     Edwin L. Granite, D.M.D

2013:     Katherine L. Esterly, M.D.

2014:     LTG(DE) William H. Duncan, M.D.

2015:     Joseph A. Kuhn, M.D.

2016: J. Kent Riegel, Esq.

2017: The Honorable Susan Del Pesco, Esq.

2018: Nicholas J. Petrelli, MD