February Awareness

February is…

African American History Month – https://www.africanamericanhistorymonth.gov/
American Heart Month – http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/
International Prenatal Infection Prevention Month – http://www.groupbstrepinternational.org/
National Cancer Prevention Month – https://www.whatnext.com/blog/posts/february-is-national-cancer-prevention-month
National Children’s Dental Health Month – http://www.ada.org/en/public-programs/national-childrens-dental-health-month
National Condom Month – http://www.ashasexualhealth.org/february-national-condom-month/

The Week of…

Feb 3 – 9: African Heritage & Health Week – https://nationaldaycalendar.com/african-heritage-and-health-week-first-week-in-february/
Feb 7 – 14: Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Week – https://mendedhearts.org/chd-awareness-week/?doing_wp_cron=1517322899.4326980113983154296875
Feb 3 – 9: Burn Awareness Week – http://ameriburn.org/prevention/burn-awareness-week/
Feb 10 – 16: National Cardiac Rehabilitation Week – https://www.aacvpr.org/Events-Education/Live-Workshops/Cardiac-Pulmonary-Rehabilitation-Weeks

 

The Day of…

Feb 1: National Wear Red Day – https://www.goredforwomen.org/en/get-involved/give/wear-red-and-give
Feb 4: World Cancer Day – http://www.worldcancerday.org/
Feb 7: National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day – https://nationalblackaidsday.org/
Feb 14: National Donor Day – https://www.organdonor.gov/index.html

 

Innovative Discoveries Series

Diet and Vascular Health: The Role of Sodium and Potassium Intake

Sodium consumption continues to remain well above recommended intakes despite recommendations from many health organizations. Further potassium consumption remains well below recommended intakes. While both nutrients are known for the effect on blood pressure, more recent evidence demonstrates that they affect our vasculature prior to any change in blood pressure. This presentation will discuss the role of dietary sodium and potassium on the blood vessel function and potential health implications.

Presented By:

Shannon Lennon, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology, University of Delaware
Licensed Registered Dietitian, State of Delaware

Free!  Lunch will be served!

This activity has been approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit.

REGISTER ONLINE TODAY!

Friday, March 15, 2019
Noon to 1 p.m.
In-person: Christiana Hospital,Room 1100
Online: Watch live at https://bluejeans.com/361095905
Or join meeting ID 361095905 on the BlueJeans app on your smartphone or tablet

This activity has been approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit.

Upcoming Lectures:

April 12, 2019: Advancing Pediatric Medication Discharge Teaching

CCHS Global Health Residency Track

GLOBAL HEALTH SERIES

Please join us for this month’s global health talk!
The Global Health Residency Tracks of Christiana Care Health System, in partnership with the Delaware Academy of Medicine / Delaware Public Health Association, are pleased to invite you to this month’s global health talk.

Thursday, March 28, 2019
5:30 – 6:30 pm
LIVE: Ammon Medical Education Center Room 14

What Lies Beneath: Contributors to Morbidity and Mortality at Kalukembe Hospital

We will share from our experiences in Angola, Africa from 2015-2018 about biological, sociological and political contributors to causes of maternal mortality, MDR-TB and child malnutrition at a rural district hospital.

Speakers:
Daniel Cummings, MD
Priscila Cummings, MD

Co-Hosts:
Dr. Matthew Hoffman
Dr. Omar Khan

REGISTER ONLINE

The CCHS Global Health Curriculum is an interdepartmental collaboration, supporting the Global Health Tracks in the Depts. of Medicine and Family Medicine, and the Med-Peds Residency, with the support of the Delaware Academy of Medicine, Delaware Public Health Association, and Delaware Academy of Family Physicians.

All are welcome to attend this talk.  Global Health Curriculum residents are required to attend.  There is no charge to attend this event, but registration is required. Food and Refreshments will be served.