Smartphone CPR App in New Castle County

Leaders in New Castle County, Delaware, have launched a new smartphone application they say will save lives when help is urgently needed.

Activated when a call is made to 911, the PulsePoint app alerts and directs trained residents to people nearby who need cardiopulmonary resuscitation or CPR. County Executive Matt Meyer said citizen responders, who include off-duty first responders, can make all the difference in those critical moments before first responders arrive.

Learn more

Addiction Resources in Delaware

Over 20 million Americans had a substance abuse disorder in 2015.  It is the leading cause of accidental death in the United states, and over 20,000 of those overdose deaths are related to prescription pain relievers (American Society of Addiction Medicine).

Addiction is everywhere, even in Delaware.

SO IS HELP. 

Visit HelpIsHereDE.com

New Castle County: 800-652-2929

Kent & Sussex Counties: 800-345-6785

April Awareness

April Is…

Alcohol Awareness Month – https://www.ncadd.org/about-ncadd/events-awards/alcohol-awareness-month
Autism Awareness Month – http://www.autism-society.org/get-involved/national-autism-awareness-month/
Child Abuse Prevention Month – https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/preventing/preventionmonth/
Donate Life Month – https://www.donatelife.net/ndlm/
Head & Neck Cancer Awareness Month – http://oralcancerfoundation.org/events/oral-head-neck-cancer-awareness-month/
IBS Awareness Month – http://www.aboutibs.org/ibs-awareness-month.html
Minority Health Month – https://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov/omh/Content.aspx?ID=12481&lvl=2&lvlid=12
Sexual Assault Awareness & Prevention Month – http://www.nsvrc.org/saam/
Testicular Cancer Awareness Month – https://testicularcancersociety.org/pages/about-tc

April 6-12: National Public Health Week – http://www.nphw.org/
April 12-16: Sexual Assault Awareness Week – https://www.cdc.gov/std/saw/index.htm
April 20-24
: Every Kid Healthy Week – http://www.actionforhealthykids.org/what-we-do/every-kid-healthy-week
April 24-30: World Immunization Week – https://www.who.int/news-room/events/detail/2020/04/24/default-calendar/world-immunization-week-2020
April 26 – May 3: National Infant Immunization Week – http://www.whathealth.com/awareness/event/nationalinfantimmunizationweek.html

April 7: World Health Day – https://www.who.int/news-room/campaigns/world-health-day/world-health-day-2020
April 16: National Health Care Decisions Day – http://www.nhdd.org/
April 22: Earth Day – http://www.earthday.org/
April 24: World Meningitis Day http://www.comomeningitis.org/world-meningitis-day/wmd-2020/

Delaware Mini Medical School

Due to COVID-19, and with an abundance of caution for the well-being of our community, Mini Medical School is being postponed indefinitely.  We are exploring options to deliver
the course content online to previously registered individuals, and will communicate details as they become available.

Designed for individuals who want to gain a deeper understanding of the world of medicine, Mini-Medical School is a free, six-week series of lectures for adults of all ages and high school students co-sponsored with ChristianaCare.

Attendees learn about important trends in diagnosing and treating illness and general health topics. Faculty will provide in-depth lectures and allow time for questions to enhance the experience. There are no tests or grades. No previous medical training is required. Participants who attend all six sessions will receive a Certificate of Achievement.

Light refreshments will be served.

 

2020 Mini-Med Lecture Schedule

Week 1. Special Health Care Needs – Making the Transition to Adulthood for those with Special Needs

Thursday, February 27, 2020
Registration – 6:30 p.m., Lecture – 7 to 9 p.m.

 

Week 2. Kidney Transplant: Preparation by the Donor and Recipient

Thursday, March 5, 2020
Registration – 6:30 p.m., Lecture – 7 to 9 p.m.

 

Week 3. Psychological Assessment: Tools and Methods for Understanding Our Behaviors

Thursday, March 12, 2020
Registration – 6:30 p.m., Lecture – 7 to 9 p.m.

 

Week 4. The Evolution of the Nurse Practitioner & Physicans Assistant Role in Medicine

Thursday, March 19, 2020
Registration – 6:30 p.m., Lecture – 7 to 9 p.m.

 

Week 5. The New Field of Immunotherapy

Thursday, March 26, 2020
Registration – 6:30 p.m., Lecture – 7 to 9 p.m.

 

Week 6. Parkinson’s Disease and Movement Disorders

Thursday, April 2, 2020
Registration – 6:30 p.m., Lecture – 7 to 9 p.m.

 

Seating is limited. Register online or call 800-693-CARE (2273).